Leo Sayer - Leo's Room The Official Site

Welcome to LeoSayer.com

(Sydney –  November 29th  2014 )

Hi folks,

I hope you’ve all had a good year.

It’s been a busy year for me, but mostly I’ve been working behind the scenes. After completing the Australian national concert tour I was on earlier this year (the Apia Good Times Tour alongside Russell Morris, Joe Camilleri and Richard Clapton), I took members of that band into a studio in Melbourne in April to start work on a new album, titled ‘Restless Years’.

The album is completed now and ready to roll out in January on the Fanfare label.

The first territory will be Australia, as while I’d love to be able to announce a worldwide release at this time, it’s simply not feasible yet. As the year progresses the album will be released worldwide and I intend be touring wherever that happens, as it happens, so please be patient and we’ll cover every area eventually.

‘Restless Years’ is a collection of all new songs, all composed by me, including four co-writes with Albert Hammond, and one with Frank Farrel (my co-writer on the ‘Another Year’ album from 1975).

The album tracks (and writers) are:

1. “Beautiful Year” Leo Sayer)

2. “Competing With A DJ” (Leo Sayer)

3. “How Did We Get So Old” (Leo Sayer)

4. “Revolution Of The Heart” (Leo Sayer and Albert Hammond)

5. “Millenium Wheel” (Leo Sayer)

6. “Restless Years” (Leo Sayer and Albert Hammond)

7. “One Green World” (Leo Sayer)

8. “The Wrong Man” (Leo Sayer)

9. “Look Around” (Leo Sayer and Albert Hammond)

10. “The Radio Song” (Leo Sayer)

11. “Sometimes Things Go Wrong” (Leo Sayer and Frank Farrel)

12. “To The River” (Leo Sayer and Albert Hammond)

13. “Mister In Between” (Leo Sayer)

The musicians on all the tracks were: Johnny Salerno (drums), Mitch Cairns (bass), Bill Risby (keyboards), and Danny Spencer (guitars).

Also performing on the record were Mark Kennedy (percussion), Ross Irwin (trumpet and flugelhorn), Paul Williams (saxophones), Keiran Conrau (trombone), and Natasha Stuart, Vika Bull and Linda Bull on backing vocals.

We recorded all the tracks at Mitch Cairns’ Melbourne studio, added acoustic piano at 301 Studios in Sydney, record vocals at my studio in Sydney, and it was mastered by Leon Zervos at 301 Studios. Mitch was the recording engineer for the tracks, and ex Beatles engineer Richard Lush, recorded the pianos.

An important part of the record was the mix by John Hudson, my fellow ex Londoner, who’s mixed many hits for me in the past. His part of the process was carried out in a remote part of Queensland where he has a studio on the edge of a working farm, a great place for objectivity and reflection, and I reckon the sound he gets up there was the icing on the cake.

I’m really happy with the results, and can’t wait for you to hear it!

Now I’m switching myself off for Christmas and New Year, which I’ll be spending in Italy this year, and concentrating on getting my energies fired up for what promises to be, in 2015, a “beautiful year”!

I’ll talk to you all again very soon, but meanwhile here are my very best wishes for a wonderful holiday season, a very Happy Christmas – and a wonderful, peaceful and prosperous 2015.

See you there!


This is the new look ‘leo sayer.com’ – the official website and home of all things “leo”, so if it’s your first visit, here’s a few guidelines.

I think a website is like a virtual “world”, an entirely new home, an exhibition in the ether, and a different (and maybe fresh) way of looking at a life or career – well anyway, that’s the theory behind ‘leo’s room”.

Run your mouse or curser across the home page and you’ll see you can instantly locate various categories of the site by clicking and selecting highlighted images or icons.

These categories are also listed on top of the room, and here’s more on them:

News. You’ll find up to the moment news of my activities and my latest message to you on the news page.

Messages. The message page works much like before – here I invite you to send me a message, ask me questions, or create a forum or topic for discussion. Please keep your posts limited to one person per posting name. It’s not intended as a conversation page between friends – it’s a discussion group, so please when replying to a post, stick to the discussion topics. The site is monitored by the website facilitators (not only me) and we will remove multi posters who use more than one log in name, and all those who profess or pretend, incorrectly, to be the site moderators. Furthermore, we will not tolerate rudeness, offensive language, insults or bad manners, so if you want your message to be shown, you must adhere to these rules.

I will endeavour to reply to as many of your questions as frequently as I can.

Live news. This now has it’s own section too – with details of upcoming concerts and appearances.

Audio player. Here you can listen to tracks on the media player. This features a personal selection various tracks from the archives or recent live material, which will be updated from time to time.

Biography (The Story So Far). This has been carried over from the last edition of the site, and has the entire story of my life and career, with accompanying pictures.

Discography. It’s all new and details the hits and chart positions of my albums and singles in the U.K., the U.S.A., and Australia, also the territories they were released in.

Lyrics. Some of you may remember these pages from before, so I’ve brought ‘em back and brought them up to date – all the lyrics of every album and single track released are shown here.

Photographs. Here’s a new style gallery in an easily navigable format. It’s split into two categories: My career, and Recent Activities. I’ll be up dating these with new pics galleries from time to time.

Press Articles. I’ve been collecting these for some time, so I thought it’d be cool to share some of these with you. They run all the way from 1972 to the present day, telling my story from various other perspectives.

Store. Coming soon… Here there’ll be a chance to purchase merchandise like T-shirts, caps and other ‘leo’ branded items, and buy CD’s and DVD’s. We’ll supply and ship internationally from this site, so look out for this to be up and running soon.

Links. Here you can find other points of contact, for professional enquiries, bookings and such like. Also here are some of my favourite sites to visit, and the home sites of many of my favourite musicians and work colleagues.

I do hope you all enjoy the new pages and generally have fun with the material here.

“leosayer.com” has a truly international fan base, so I hope that the content here applies to all of you.

I can only apologise that if some of my releases are unknown to you, this is because they have not been made available worldwide. It’s just the way this business is, I’m afraid. Some territories don’t agree in taste with the other ones, but thanks to the web, the world is getting smaller and most of my releases can be found on the internet or by downloading, which I think is great.

Okay, that’s about it for now.  Keep watching this page for further developments ‘cos the ‘Show” is definitely still going on.

All the best….

Leo's Signature